Sanderson Farms Championship Announces Player Commitments

With just two weeks left before the start of the Sanderson Farms Championship, the tournament is excited to announce player commitments.

The field of 132 players will include the defending 2015 Sanderson Farms Champion, Peter Malnati. Other past champions committing at this time include Nick Taylor (2014), Chris Kirk (2011), D.J. Trahan (2006), and Cameron Beckman (2001).

Joining the field of play are two-time Major Champions Angel Cabrera (2007 U.S. Open and 2009 Masters) and Retief Goosen (2001 and 2004 U.S. Open); Major Champions Stewart Cink (2009 British Open), Lucas Glover (2009 U.S. Open), and David Toms (2001 PGA Championship).

Other early commitments include Ricky Barnes, Jerry Kelly, Jonathan Randolph (Ole Miss standout from Brandon, MS), Stuart Appleby, Matt Jones, Camilo Villegas, Boo Weekley, Ben Crane, and Vaughan Taylor.

“Our event is growing in stature among the PGA TOUR players, and I think this is reflected in the strength of our field with just over a week to go,” said Executive Director Steve Jent.

The 49th Sanderson Farms Championship is set for October 24-30, 2016, at The Country Club of Jackson, MS.

About The Sanderson Farms Championship
The Sanderson Farms Championship is an annual stop on the PGA TOUR hosted by Century Club Charities, a non-profit, 501(c)(3) organization whose mission is to promote the game of golf for the benefit of charity. The tournament’s primary beneficiary is Friends of Children’s Hospital. The tournament has been part of the PGA TOUR schedule since 1968 and is now in its sixth year as a part of the FedExCup. Sanderson Farms (NASDAQ:SAFM), the nation’s third largest poultry producer based in Laurel, Miss., is the title sponsor.