Sanderson Farms Championship Announces Player Commitments

With less than one week left before the start of the 2017 Sanderson Farms Championship, the tournament is excited to announce current player commitments. The 50th Sanderson Farms Championship is set for October 23-29, 2017 at The Country Club of Jackson, MS.

The field of 132 players will include defending 2016 Sanderson Farms Champion Cody Gribble. Other past champions committing at this time include Peter Malnati (2015), Chris Kirk (2011), D.J. Trahan (2006), and Luke Donald (2002), who career-wise has spent a cumulative 56 weeks as World Number One.

Also, joining the field of play are two-time major champions Angel Cabrera (2007 U.S. Open and 2009 Masters); Retief Goosen (2001 and 2004 U.S. Open); major winner Y.E. Yang (2009 PGA Championship); and Hall of Famer Davis Love III, winner of 21 events on the PGA TOUR, including one major, (1997 PGA Championship).

Other commitments include Hunter Mahan, winner of two World Golf Championship events, (2010 WGC-Bridgestone Invitational and the 2012 WGC-Accenture Match Play Championship); Stuart Appleby, Aaron Baddeley, Jonathan Randolph (Ole Miss standout from Brandon, MS), Kevin Streelman, Ben Crane, Vaughan Taylor, and Ross Bell, the 2016 Mississippi State Am Winner.

“Our event continues to grow in reputation among the PGA TOUR players, and I think this is reflected in the strength of our field with just under a week to go,” said Executive Director Steve Jent.

About The Sanderson Farms Championship
The Sanderson Farms Championship is an annual stop on the PGA TOUR hosted by Century Club Charities, a non-profit, 501(c)(3) organization whose mission is to promote the game of golf for the benefit of charity. The tournament’s primary beneficiary is Friends of Children’s Hospital. The tournament has been part of the PGA TOUR schedule since 1968 and is now in its sixth year as a part of the FedExCup. Sanderson Farms (NASDAQ:SAFM), the nation’s third largest poultry producer based in Laurel, Miss., is the title sponsor.