Sanderson Farms Championship Announces First Player Commitments

Emily Moore

JACKSON, Miss. (October 7, 2015) – With just one month left before the start of the Sanderson Farms Championship, the tournament is pleased to announce early player commitments.

The field of 132 players will include returning 2014 Sanderson Farms Champion, Nick Taylor, to defend his title. Other players commiting at this time include 2007 Sanderson Farms Champion, Chad Campbell, and 2009 Champion, Will MacKenzie.

Also joining the field of play are Major winners David Toms, who won the 2001 PGA Championship, Lucas Glover, Champion of the 2009 U.S. Open, Tim Clark, Jerry Kelly, Carl Pettersson, Jason Bohn, Charles Howell III, Stuart Appleby, William McGirt and Ricky Barnes.

“Based on the early commitments, we are anticipating an extremely strong field,” said Executive Tournament Steve Jent. “The feedback we’ve received throughout the year is that the players really enjoy the experience here in Mississippi, and they are eager to get a jump in the FedExCup points competition.”

The 48th Sanderson Farms Championship is set for November 2 – 8, 2015, at The Country Club of Jackson in Jackson, Miss.

About The Sanderson Farms Championship:
The Sanderson Farms Championship is an annual stop on the PGA TOUR hosted by Century Club Charities, a non-profit, 501(c)(3) organization whose mission is to promote the game of golf for the benefit of charity. Friends of Children’s Hospital is the tournament’s primary beneficiary. The tournament has been part of the PGA TOUR schedule since 1968 and is now in its fifth year as a part of the FedExCup. The Championship is sponsored by Sanderson Farms (NASDAQ:SAFM), the nation’s third largest poultry producer, based in Laurel, Miss.